Cities Delhi News

Delhi Assembly’s Opposition leader elected to Lok Sabha: BJP MLAs down to 7, bypoll unlikely | Delhi News

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to lose one of its MLAs in the Delhi Legislative Assembly, reducing its representation in the House from eight to seven members over the coming days.

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, Leader of Opposition and BJP’s Badarpur MLA, who contested the Lok Sabha polls and won from the South Delhi constituency is scheduled to resign early next week to be sworn in as a Member of the Lok Sabha.

According to government sources, a bypoll on the Badarpur Assembly seat which he represents is unlikely in view of the schedule of the Delhi Assembly elections in early 2025.

“The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha, where MP designates will take oath as Members of the Lok Sabha, has been summoned from June 24 till July 3 for the affirmation of the newly elected Parliamentarians. Bidhuri will need to resign from his post as LOP of the Delhi Assembly before the commencement of the proceedings of the Lower House,” a senior BJP leader said.

“According to legislative rules, there needs to be more than a six-month gap between the date that an Assembly segment falls vacant and the announcement of elections of a State Assembly to necessitate a bye-election; this condition is unlikely to be met in this case,” a government official said.

Six of the BJP’s existing MLAs in the House represent Assembly segments falling under the trans-Yamuna area; these include Laxmi Nagar MLA Abhay Verma, Vishwas Nagar MLA Om Prakash Sharma, Gandhi Nagar MLA Anil Kumar Bajpai, Rohtas Nagar MLA Jitender Mahajan, Ghonda MLA Ajay Mahawar and Karawal Nagar MLA Mohan Singh Bisht.

According to a BJP source, the odds of being chosen for the office yet again were seen to be tilted in favour of BJP Rohini MLA Vijender Gupta. He was the LOP in the Delhi Assembly before Bidhuri.

“We will begin the process of choosing Bidhuri’s replacement from the seven BJP MLAs after he steps down. The front-runners for the post include Gupta, Bisht, and Mahawar,” a BJP source said.

“While Bisht is the senior-most among the party’s legislators in the House, Gupta is the sole MLA to represent an Assembly segment outside of East and Northeast Delhi; this is likely to have a major bearing on who is chosen by the BJP national leadership for the post,” the source added.

Source link

Spread the love


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *